Welcome, one and all.

Hi there.  I have decided to start a cookery blog for the simple reason that I am continually flooding facebook with posts about what I’m having for dinner, and thought I needed a more appropriate outlet for my food-related blurting (although don’t get me wrong – I don’t plan to put detailed information of all of my meals on here!).

A little about me.  I grew up in Somerset, and started to learn how to cook as a tiny child.  I always loved being in the kitchen with Mum, and cooked my first meal by myself when I was about 7.  Since then, my knowledge-base has grown exponentially, and I like to think that my skill has too.  I’m very much of the “chuck it in a pan and hope” school of cookery, and usually it works out OK (although there are obviously occasional disasters!).

I have always been quite creative with leftovers – I hate to throw away food, and this comes from my family’s ethos.  If it doesn’t get eaten, it gets saved (within reason, of course!).  I am also incredibly bad at cooking for small numbers.  I learnt how to cook for a family of 6, including 3 very hungry brothers, an even hungrier Dad and countless visitors.  Through uni I solved this by inviting people over to eat all the time and eating the same dinner three or four nights in a row.  I’m currently solving it by having a freezer full of ready-made meals to be microwaved when I’m feeling lazy.

Whilst I was at uni, I used to cook and bake to avoid doing my work, and when I wasn’t in the kitchen I was thinking about the next dish I would be making.  This has continued since starting the Legal Practice Course, hence the title of this blog.

Congratulations if you’ve got this far.  I hope a few people enjoy reading my food-related ramblings, and if not at least I have somewhere I can splurge them🙂

Love love

Gemma xx

Leave a Reply

