It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas…

I have been a mega-organised individual.  I have already done a whole heap of my Christmas baking which is currently sitting in the beautiful cupboard of Christmas in my kitchen.  Next stop, spending the next couple of months soaking everything in alcohol🙂  The recipes for Port and Cranberry Mincemeat, Christmas Pudding and Christmas Cake will follow.

A Man has also set some Sloe Gin to brew ready for Christmas.  The recipe’s dead simple.  Pick some sloes (they’re little purple plum-like fruits which grow all over the English countryside on the blackthorn plant – click here if you don’t know what you’re looking for), buy a cheap bottle of gin and stick them in a jar for a few months.  Taste every now and then and sweeten as necessary (sloes and gin are both pretty bitter so you may find you need to use a fair amount of sugar).  Drink as an after-dinner liqueur.  I’ve also used the same process to great effect to make Raspberry Whisky (using honey instead to sweeten) and Mixed Berry Vodka.

Much love,

Gemma xx

Tagged: ,

One thought on “It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas…

  1. […] so the fruit was soaked for a week in a combination of Bacardi Oakheart spiced rum and home-steeped raspberry whisky.  I am now the proud owner of a silver sixpence, given to me by my dad and worn by me in my shoe […]

Leave a Reply

