My freezer inventory

A Man and I went shopping earlier.  I always have this problem with food shopping, in that I can never quite marry up what I’ve already got at home with what I want to cook this week, and which other things I need to buy to achieve the latter goal.  Part of the problem (although I don’t really see it as such) is that I work in a supermarket, meaning I’m not only in the shop all the time, but I also get discount and get the opportunity to constantly browse the reduced sections, so a lot of the stuff in there is only in the freezer in the first place because it didn’t cost much.

I decided to write a list of what’s in my freezer, and it turns out that I’ve essentially been hoarding food.  Some of it I am planning to use during the week (in which case, I’m not quite sure how we managed to spend quite as much as we did today, particularly given that we bought no meat…) so you may well get to have a look at what happens to the poor stuff which has been squashed haphazardly into freezer bags and somehow managed to find a space amongst all the other rubbish that’s in there…

I’ve taken my duck carcass out to make stock this evening, so soup is on the cards for tomorrow.  As for the rest of the week, the plan includes a beef and mushroom pie and some kind of fish risotto or pie.

Love love

Gemma xx

Meat and Fish

Duck liver
6 Pork and Glastonbury Ale Sausages
Braising Steak
Cooked Prawns
Cooked Mussels
Smoked Salmon
Pouting Fillets
2 whole Gurnard
Large-ish joint of Salmon

Leftovers

1 portion Pork Goulash
Fish Cake mix
2 portions Lentil and Bacon Soup
2 portions Veggie Curry
2 portions Lamb Tagine
Duck, port and plum gravy

Other

1 packet of Salami and Chianti filled pasta
Peas
Sweetcorn
Ice Lollies
Fish Fingers
Loaf of bread
6 Crumpets

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

