Savoury Crèpes with Winter Vegetables

I was on my way home from school today and realised I’d not taken anything out the freezer and had NO PLANS FOR MY TEA!  Tragic occurrence.  This recipe arose from my delving into the salad drawer to see which veg we had in (a veritable feast, as it happens, as I only went shopping on Wednesday) and wanting to do a veggie thing as we went out for a meal yesterday and all ate steak (more about that later).

I bought the cavolo nero on a whim as it was reduced to 25p and I’m pleased that I did.  It’s got a firm texture and full cabbage-y flavour which works well as a main vegetable.  I ought to have cooked it for longer, but other than that I’m very pleased with this meal🙂

Love love

Gemma xx

Savoury Crèpes with Winter Veg

Turns out that A Man's significantly better than I am at taking photos of food.

Sliced leek
Winter squash, diced small
Cavolo nero or chard, stalks and leaves separated and diced small
Flour
Eggs
Milk
Herbs
Grated cheese (I used a mixture of cheddar and grana padano)

  1. Fry the leek, squash and cabbage stalks in olive oil and butter on a medium-low heat until soft.  Add the cabbage leaves and season to taste.
  2. Mix the eggs with the flour in a bowl and gradually add enough milk to make a reasonably thin batter.  I have no idea of the quantities I used – I recommend finding a proper recipe if you’d like to know!
  3. Add salt, pepper and herbs to the batter.  I added lots of dried rosemary and a little sage.  It’s worth pointing out that (if you’re anything like me) you might need a fair amount of seasoning to prevent yourself from anticipating a filling of lemon and sugar!
  4. Heat some olive oil in a frying pan and place some plates in a warm oven.  Ladle the batter into the pan a little at a time, swirl it round and cook the pancakes on both sides until all the batter is used.  Place each pancake on the warmed plate once cooked.
  5. Wrap each crèpe around some veg and cheese.  If you fancy something a bit more moist, make up cheese sauce in place of the grated cheese.
  6. A Man’s old housemate makes these by making the pancakes, stuffing them with ham and cheesy sauce and things and baking them in the oven until warm, similar to cannelloni.  It’s a good alternative to lasagne-style meals.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

