Mediterranean Inspired Chicken with Stuffed Peppers

Hello again

 

I wanted to do something quick for dinner tonight, given that I’ve been up since stupid-o’ clock and left to get the train at 6.30 this morning.  I was absolutely not in the mood to go to work today!  This wasn’t quite as quick as maybe intended, but it wasn’t onerous, and tasted nice and fresh – it’s actually pretty good for you!  The stuffed peppers are obviously also the quintessential “my veggie friend’s coming for dinner what do I cook?!” food, but I think they’re just as good as a side dish, provided that the peppers you use are quite small.

 

The chicken’s been in my freezer since I portioned a whole chicken a couple of weeks ago (thinking about maybe posting some kind of tutorial next time I do this).  I don’t often cook chicken breasts whole, as they have a propensity to dry out whilst you try and ensure that the middle’s cooked properly, but this seemed to work quite well.  The cous cous was very similar to this one, except that I used some ham stock out of my freezer tonight, which worked nicely with the other flavours.

 

I’ve bought Schwartz Cook Art herb and spice mixes quite a few times and have to admit to being quite a big fan (although they’re pretty expensive, so it’s only ever when they’re on offer that I get them!), particularly of the cocoa nib chilli mix.  Today I used the basil, sun-dried tomato and apple one, though clearly any herbs you’ve got would be more than adequate!

 

Love love

Gemma xx

 

Mediterranean Inspired Chicken

I'd almost go as far as to say that tonight's meal has verged on paying attention to the laws of presentation!

Skin-on Chicken breasts
Herbs to flavour the chicken
Whole sweet peppers, with ‘lids’ cut out and pith and seeds removed
Cooked Cous Cous
Sweet potato, peeled and diced
Tomato sauce – this was made really simply, by reducing a tin of chopped tomatoes with a few cloves of garlic, a splash of Worcester sauce and a glug of balsamic vinegar

  1. Place the peppers in a medium-hot oven, to start cooking.
  2. Peel back the skin of the chicken breasts and rub with herbs.  Replace the skin over the top.
  3. Remove the peppers from the oven, fill with cous cous, replace the ‘lids’ and return to the oven.
  4. Brush a griddle with a little olive oil and heat on the hob.  Once hot, place the breasts in, skin-side down.  Turn occasionally and cook until the chicken is no longer pink in the middle, and the skin is crispy.
  5. Microwave the sweet potato with a splash of water until soft.  Mash once cooked.  Add some freshly grated nutmeg if desired.
  6. Serve as soon as the chicken is cooked through, with the warmed tomato sauce, peppers and sweet potato.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

