Mussel Linguine

Greetings, lovelies.

It’s been a busy old weekend.  I went up to Oxford to visit what appeared to be the entire universe, and A Man went over to Brighton so much much money was spent and there was a great deal of eating out done.  Back to the grindstone now though, so naturally I had to update this instead of finishing tomorrow’s prep work for school🙂

I’ve said before that A Man doesn’t like fish, so when he went out for a colleague’s leaving do last week, I took the opportunity to use the mussels I’d put in the freezer.  Mussels are sweet and a cheap way to eat seafood, so I love them.  Wrote this up at the time but for some reason I didn’t post it.  Don’t make the mistake I did and over-flour, otherwise the sauce will be incredibly thick!

Much love,

Gemma xx

Mussel Linguine

Served in my beautiful wanky crested Magdalen College bowl. I meant to look into getting college pudding basins while I was in Oxford, but it slipped my mind during all the busy-ness.

Linguine, fettuccine or other pasta
Cooked mussels (if, as I would have preferred, you have raw fresh mussels, clean and de-beard them, then steam in a little white wine and add the cooking broth to your sauce)
Red onion, diced small
Winter squash, diced small
Kale or Cavolo Nero stalks, chopped small
Flour
Fish stock (I just used a cube)
Milk
Peas

  1.  Boil the pasta until cooked.  Meanwhile, Fry the onion, squash and cabbage stalks in olive oil and a little butter until soft.
  2. Add some flour to the vegetables, to form a roux from the oil.
  3. Mix the fish stock with the milk and gradually add to the vegetables until a sauce forms.  It’s important to add it slowly to prevent lumps from forming.  Heat through until the sauce thickens.
  4. Add the peas and mussels just before the end of cooking, for just long enough to heat through to prevent overcooking.
  5. Drain the pasta and mix thoroughly with the sauce.  Serve with a nice glass of white wine (or if, like me, you’re home alone for the night, serve whilst wearing pyjamas, in a bowl to eat on the sofa accompanied by old Disney films).

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

