All Wrapped Up

Afternoon

Oh, how neglectful of my little blog I’ve been this week!  After Saturday night’s excellent pizza, there’s not been a great deal of excitement food-wise.  Sunday’s dinner (though delicious) was a packet-sauced thai prawn thing put together by A Man.  On Monday we had roast pork which, although the pork shoulder was incredibly juicy and tender and the crackling was gloriously crunchy, doesn’t make for a particularly thrilling blog post.

Yesterday we ate the pork leftovers burrito-style, shredded and marinated in herbs and spices but this again derived from a packet-mix of spices (this down less to an inability to mix the spices myself, and more to convenience) and shop-bought guacamole.  I pride myself on my home-made guacamole, and I felt like a traitor to myself, but avocados are difficult to buy and eat on the same day – rarely are they ripe enough.  So, with a heavy heart, I bought a pot of too-smooth, insufficiently tangy guacamole😦

I decided to give home-made tortillas a go.  The recipe is cheap to make, and can be tailored to your own tastebuds (I added some herbs to mine) but it turns out far more labour-intensive than I’d first imagined.  I don’t think I kneaded the dough for long enough, and it was a nightmare to roll out.  Would I give it another go?  Probably.  Will I forsake all other flour tortillas and refuse to buy another?  Not a chance.  If you fancy giving it a go, I found the recipe I used on the UKTV Food website.

For now, here’s a heart-shaped tortilla, moments before being smothered in pork, cheese, lettuce, cucumber, shredded carrot, onion, pepper, guacamole, salsa and hummus.  It truly was fully loaded!  Next time I make this meal (and trust me, there will be a next time!) I’ll concentrate on the other elements and post up the recipe for the pork.

Love love

Gemma xx

The phrase "roll each piece out to form a 30cm circle" has never been so loosely interpreted.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

