Speedy Chilli Lemon Pasta

Evening!

Having been at work today, I wanted to cook something really quick for tea.  I also wanted something veggie after the frankly obscene amount of meat we ate on Sunday, so decided to just throw some things at a pan and hope.  It turns out I hoped pretty well :o)

The veg I used just happened to be what was in the fridge looking a bit sad and elderly, but I’d happily buy it all specially to make this again.  I think what really cut this dish was the red pepper mill – like a salt or pepper grinder, but with red chilli pepper flakes instead of salt or peppercorns; it really pinged through the creamy richness of the sauce.  And it all cooked in the time it took to cook the pasta!

No photo I’m afraid – we were starving!

Much love

Gemma xx

Chilli Lemon Pasta

Pasta (it doesn’t really matter which type – I used penne, but I think linguine would work best)
Olive oil
Butter
1 red onion, chopped
1 yellow pepper, chopped
1/2 courgette, chopped into large chunks
1/2 head of chicory, thinly sliced
1/2 head of fennel, thinly sliced
Large handful of fresh coriander, leaves and stems roughly chopped
1 red chilli, sliced
Lemon juice (fresh for preference, but I used bottled)
Salt
Ground chilli flakes

  1. Put the pasta on to cook according to the instructions.
  2. Heat some olive oil and butter in a pan on a medium-high hob.  Add the onion and pepper and stir well.  Fry for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add the courgette.  Keep stirring well throughout to prevent the veg from burning.
  4. Add the chicory, fennel and coriander.  Cook for a couple of minutes (you want the fennel and chicory to stay fairly crunchy if possible).  Stir through the fresh chilli.
  5. Add some lemon juice.  I’m not sure how much I used, but taste the sauce to see if it’s lemony enough for you.  Season well with salt and ground chilli.  Taste constantly until it’s how you like it, adding more butter if you like.
  6. Drain the pasta and stir through the veg.  Adjust the sauce if necessary (it may seem a little flat now it has to compete with the pasta).  Serve immediately, with a salad if you like (although I didn’t bother).

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Speedy Chilli Lemon Pasta

  1. Comprar enlaces en foros April 1, 2012 at 6:57 am Reply

    My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

    • clumsylawyer April 1, 2012 at 10:09 pm Reply

      Thanks very much – always great to get new followers. I hope to see some more of you soon!

  2. clumsylawyer June 8, 2012 at 11:44 am Reply

    Reblogged this on recipeforprocrastination and commented:

    We had a variation on this meal on Wednesday after karate and kickboxing. Just perfect as it’s quick, tasty and full of carbs🙂

Leave a Reply

