Karate and Roast Lamb

Hullo hullo

Yesterday I had a karate grading.  A friend was visiting and I had planned to make lunch, but as I wasn’t in the house A Man did it instead. I had bought a piece of leg of lamb from the supermarket which had been reduced and I’m very glad I did!  Roast lamb is not something we eat very often at all because usually it’s prohibitively expensive so it was nice to be able to have it for a change.

Although I had felt guilty about leaving my friend I’m pleased that I had.  I used to do karate when I was a teenager but gave it up when we went on our European tour during our gap year.  I started again in the new year and yesterday managed to re-grade directly from white belt to orange and back to where I left off.  Unfortunately, it’ll probably only get tougher from hereon in!  I keep having to remind myself that the pain and aching I’m feeling this morning is apparently good for me…

Much love

Gemma xx

Roast Leg of Lamb with Red Wine Gravy

1.5kg Leg of lamb
Fresh rosemary
Garlic cloves, sliced
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper
Potatoes for roasting
Flour
Red wine
Water from any vegetables
Gravy granules
1 dessert spoon redcurrant jelly or some kind of jam

  1. Cut small slits in the top of the meat and push sliced garlic and rosemary leaves into them.  Rub the meat with a little olive oil and season well.
  2. Parboil the potatoes for a few minutes, drain, and shake in the pan to fluff up the edges.
  3. Preheat the oven to 180OC/350OF/Gas mark 4 and roast the lamb and potatoes in a tray together for an hour and a quarter.  Take it out occasionally to baste the meat and turn the potatoes.  If the lamb isn’t particularly fatty, you may have to add a little more fat for the potatoes.
  4. Remove the lamb from the oven and cover it over to rest for at least 15 minutes.  Transfer the potatoes and most of the fat to another tray, put back in the oven and turn it up as high as it will go.  Cook the veg for dinner (we had carrots and asparagus), drain and leave somewhere warm until it is time to serve.
  5. Place the lamb pan on a medium hob (if it is quite big, you might need to use two hobs).  Stir flour into the fat to make a thick roux.  Gradually add a glass or two of red wine, stirring well to prevent lumps from forming.  Add the vegetable water until the gravy is the desired thickness.  Taste the gravy – it may need some ordinary gravy granules adding, depending on how flavoursome the meat drippings were.  Stir in a spoon full of redcurrant jelly.  If you don’t have any, jam will do – blackcurrant is particularly good for this sort of thing.  We used rhubarb and ginger jam.
  6. Serve the lamb thinly sliced with the veg, potatoes and gravy and some mint sauce (freshly chopped mint leaves, sugar, a little boiling water to dissolve the sugar and malt vinegar).

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

