Creamy Pouting with Spaghetti

Evening everyone

A Man is still away, and I’ve spent most of the day sitting in my freezing cold study blasting through my work for the week.  I also went into work earlier today, and luckily remembered to buy myself something for my tea.  As requested by my brother, I bought pouting; a white fish from the cod family, but much more sustainable and much much cheaper.

Pouting has a very mild flavour and should be palatable to all but the most staunch of fish haters.  Here, I teamed it with an incredibly simple cream sauce and some spaghetti as I wanted something quick and easy.

I used fresh peas tonight.  This is most unlike me because I’m a big fan of frozen peas, but for 19p a big bag of pods seemed like a good plan.  Until I had to shell them…  Oh well.

Much love

Gemma xx

Creamy Pouting with Spaghetti

I am SO BAD at cooking for one! There was just way too much of this for me – about 2 thirds of it ended up in the bin😦 It was tasty though.

Dry spaghetti
Peas
Spring onions, chopped
Lemon zest and juice
Cream
Milk
Pouting fillet, skin removed and cut into bitesize pieces
Herbs and salt and pepper to taste

  1. Place the spaghetti in a pan of water and bring to the boil.   Cook as per the instructions on the packet.
  2. Fry the spring onions in a little olive oil.  Add the lemon zest and fry for a couple of minutes.  Stir through some cream, milk and lemon juice.  Season with salt, pepper and herbs to taste.
  3. Stir the fish into the sauce and cook until the flesh flakes.  Do not cook for much longer than that or the fish will be overcooked and dry.
  4. Add the peas to the pasta and cook for a couple of minutes until warm.
  5. Drain the pasta and stir through the sauce.  Serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

