Chocolate Chestnut Tart

Hullo

Last night a friend from law school and her husband came over for dinner.  We’d been at A Man’s dad’s for lunch, so I didn’t want to do anything too involved for dinner because I didn’t think I’d have time – roast chicken it was.  However, I was also determined to make something for pudding, and decided upon this simple but classy dessert, which I more or less created on the spot.

I’ve already mentioned the garlic and saucisson sec we brought back from France, but they weren’t the only culinary treats we came home with.  One of the gifts our French friends gave us was a large tin of chestnut purée.  Following a suggestion by my mum, I decided to make a tart using the chestnuts as a base.  I planned to serve it with either cream or ice cream, but had neither so improvised the chocolate brandy sauce, which was pretty successful.  The chocolate I used was in fact left over from the strawberries I decorated my friend’s hen party cake with and seems to have been quite happy to sit in the fridge since then.  Oh, I’m good at dealing with leftovers!

Speaking of which, there’s now half a tin of chestnut purée in my fridge.  Any ideas of what I can do with it?

Love love

Gemma xx

Chocolate Chestnut Tart

150g dark chocolate
200g chestnut purée
2 eggs
Caster sugar to taste
Filo pastry
Melted butter

For the sauce
Dark chocolate
White chocolate
Butter
Milk
Brandy

I served the sauce in the teapot because it was the most appropriate receptacle I could find🙂

  1. Melt the chocolate in a bain marie.  Whilst it is melting, beat the chestnut purée with the eggs.
  2. Once the chocolate has melted, add it to the chestnut mixture.  Stir in a little sugar.  One of the great things about this pudding is its richness, so don’t add too much.
  3. Unwrap the pastry according to the packet.  Brush each sheet with a little melted butter and layer in a tart tin.  Spoon the chestnut mixture into the pastry case and bake in a medium-hot oven for 10-15 minutes, or until golden brown.
  4. For the sauce, melt together the chocolate with about 50g butter.  Once it has melted, add enough milk to reach a pouring consistency, and about 4 tablespoons brandy.  The tart and sauce are both very rich, so you only need a tiny slice.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

