Triple Chocolate, Fruit and Nut Brownies

Hullo hullo

It’s a chilly, wet day in the South West today and I’m spending quite a lot of it curled up on the sofa with a cup of tea.  A Man’s gone to a kickboxing competition in Croydon, so it’s just me, the radio and catching up with my blog.  And what better thing when you’re cold and lonely than a slab of something deliciously calorific?

It’s also my youngest brother’s 16th birthday today, and so to celebrate in his absence I’m munching on some brownies I made yesterday.  He’s also at a martial arts competition, though this one is judo, and it’s his first at a senior level, so fingers crossed for him!

I adapted a recipe in Donna Hay’s Chocolate, basically so that I didn’t have to go back to the supermarket and could just use the ingredients I already had.  It’s rich and squidgy and frankly it’s darned delicious.

Hope you’re having a relaxing Sunday!  And good luck to A Man and baby brother!

Love love

Gemma xx

Triple Chocolate, Fruit and Nut Brownies

8oz butter
2 1/2 oz milk chocolate (I used a packet of chocolate buttons!)
2 1/2 oz white chocolate
7 1/4 oz dark brown sugar
4 eggs
3 oz cocoa powder
5 oz plain flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
Handful of dried fruit (I used figs, cranberries and glacé cherries)
Handful of nuts (I used mixed nuts, including peanuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, almonds and brazil nuts)

I had planned to liberally coat the brownie with icing sugar to make it more appealing to photograph, but it turns out I don’t have any icing sugar in the cupboard.

  1. Preheat the oven to 160OC/320OF/Gas mark 3.  Line a cake tin with baking parchment.
  2. Melt the butter and half of the milk chocolate in a bain marie and allow to cool slightly.
  3. Beat the sugar and eggs together.  Sift the cocoa, flour and baking powder into the egg mixture and stir until it is well combined.
  4. Add the melted butter to the bowl and stir until it is thoroughly combined.  The mixture should be glossy and reasonably thick.
  5. Chop the remaining chocolate, dried fruit and nuts into small pieces.  I used the mezzaluna.  Sprinkle over the batter and fold in gently, until the pieces are well distributed.
  6. Pour into the prepared baking tin and cook for between 35 minutes and an hour, until set.  This will entirely depend on how thick the brownie is.  Mine was quite thick, and I ended up leaving it in the warm (but switched off) oven while we watched a film so that it would set, but still be deliciously squidgy and moist.  Yum!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

