Quick and easy stir fried fishies

Evening

I came home from work completely knackered and did nothing this afternoon.  Seriously, I have no idea how 3 1/2 hours went by between me getting home and A Man getting home, but somehow they did.  I wanted to cook something super-easy, and it was between this and chilli, which I decided would be better tomorrow as that’s the evening I do karate and A Man kicks boxes.

As I’ve said before, A Man doesn’t really like fish, but he will eat salmon.  That and the sardines I had were short date and highly reduced, so I stuck them in the freezer after we bought them and defrosted them in the fridge.  It takes longer, but it’s technically safer, and less moisture leaks out of the flesh.  They were only in there 24 hours, anyway.

Making this also gave me a chance to try out my new sweet chilli jelly and the verdict is success!  But it’s pretty pungent so I really didn’t have to use very much (which is good to know, and also means it’ll last longer).  Most of the stir fried veg was actually some leftover salad which had been stuck in the fridge and wasn’t ideal to eat raw any more, but was fine for cooking.  It had been dressed in some olive oil, balsamic vinegar and wholegrain mustard, but I don’t think that added much to the final flavour.

Love love

Gemma xx

Stir Fried Fish

Fish of your choice (A Man had a salmon fillet and I had 3 sardines)
Noodles
Toasted sesame oil
Onion
Carrot
Pepper
Red gem lettuce
Root ginger
Sesame seeds
Sweet chilli jelly (or shop-bought sweet chilli sauce would do the trick if you’re not a crazy person like me and have home-made stuff)
Lime
Honey

A Man’s salmon, with its crispy crispy skin. He likes it a bit more well done than I do!

  1. Place the noodles in a bowl with a lid and cover with boiling water.
  2. Heat some sesame oil in a wok.  Chop the veg into bite-sized chunks and the ginger into matchsticks and stir fry for a few minutes.  Add some sesame seeds.
  3. Add the zest of the lime to the veg, and a spoon or two of sweet chilli jelly.  Stir through the juice of half the lime and a small teaspoon of honey.  Taste the sauce and adjust as necessary, adding a spoonful or two of the noodle water to loosen it.  Remove the veg from the heat.
  4. Heat a little oil in a frying pan.  Add the fish, skin side down, once the oil is hot and cook for a couple of minutes, until cooked to your liking, turning half-way through.
  5. Plate up the noodles and veg, and place the fish on top.  Cut the remaining lime into wedges to squeeze over the top, and season with soy sauce to taste.

And my sardines, which are somewhat less attractive.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

