Kedgeree

Hi there

Curried fish and rice?  For breakfast?  Why yes, that’s what I ate yesterday morning.  I made a (very delicious) chilli for dinner on Wednesday and popped to the supermarket to get some sour cream to slop on the top.  Whilst there, I picked up a whole load of reduced things, including some kippers for 15p.  Now, kippers aren’t the fish most people would use in kedgeree but they’re my favourites.  So I cooked some extra rice and stuck in the fridge to cool down, ready for the morning.

I completely forgot about the boiled eggs until after I’d finished my breakfast, but I don’t think it was missing much (although perhaps it would have looked slightly more attractive!).  I stirred through the remaining sour cream, but it’s not necessary.

Also, I cooked a pizza for dinner last night with the other reduced things I picked up – mozzarella and polish sausage.  I’m not going to post a recipe (I’ve done plenty of pizzas before) but I will post a picture just because it was so darned pretty!

Much love

Gemma xx

Kedgeree

Cooked white rice
Cooked fish
Eggs
Butter
Onion
Smoked paprika
Cayenne pepper
Turmeric
Sour cream
Parsley (preferably fresh, but I had to use dried)

 

 

 

  1. Boil the eggs for 5-6 minutes, until the yolks have set, but not hardened.  Run briefly under cold water, shell and set aside.
  2. Melt some butter in a frying pan.  Dice the onion and fry until soft.  Add the cooked rice and spices.  Taste and adjust the spices as necessary.
  3. Flake the fish, removing as many bones as possible.  Stir through the rice and heat gently until warm.
  4. Stir through some sour cream and add a good sprinkling of parsley.  Dish up the kedgeree, chop the eggs into slices and don’t forget to add to the rice!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment